I Can’t Date Jesus

Written by: Michael Arceneaux

Category:
Spread the love

In this unapologetically honest and refreshingly candid memoir, Michael Arceneaux navigates the challenges of being a gay Black man in today’s America. With his signature wit and bold storytelling, Arceneaux explores the intersections of race, sexuality, faith, and identity in a world that often silences voices like his.

From his childhood in Houston, Texas, to his encounters with the priesthood and the persistent obstacles faced by marginalized young people, Arceneaux leaves no stone unturned as he chronicles his journey to self-acceptance in the face of adversity. He fearlessly tackles the complexities of coming out to his mother, embracing intimacy (even when it leads to unfortunate run-ins with fire ants and fleas), and the daily challenges of existing as a minority in a society that consistently denies him the opportunity to pursue his dreams.

“I Can’t Date Jesus” is a testament to the power of living authentically and bravely in a divisive world. Arceneaux’s experiences, while uniquely his own, serve as a powerful reminder of the ongoing struggle for equality and acceptance within the LGBTQ community, particularly for persons of color.

With a voice that is both unflinching and humorous, Arceneaux’s memoir is perfect for fans of David Sedaris, Samantha Irby, and Phoebe Robinson. “I Can’t Date Jesus” is an essential read for anyone seeking an honest and impactful exploration of what it means to embrace one’s identity and live life on one’s own terms, no matter the obstacles.

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “I Can’t Date Jesus”

Overall Rating
Funny Rating
Giftability Rating